Is Shin Noodles Gluten-Free?

Is Shin Noodles Gluten-Free?

If you have come across a red and black package of noodles with a big and bold Korean calligraphic inscription in the Hanja character, you have probably seen Shin noodlesShin Noodles, also known as Shin Ram Yeon is produced in South Korea. The words “Shin Ram Yeon” means “spicy instant noodles” in English.

Shin noodles are soft and chewy and can be combined easily with different broths, with the commonest broth being the spicy beef broth. Shin noodles are known for the spicy nature they have and this appeals to regular consumers.

If you are contemplating getting some for yourself, especially as a first-time eater, you should know if your body can tolerate the Shin noodlesDo you have any reason to stay off gluten? Then, read on.

No, shin noodles are not gluten-free. This is because it is made from wheat flour and wheat contains gluten. Gluten is a significant component of wheat, hence, everything derived from it is inherently not gluten-free.

Shin Noodles; Why You May Be Able To Tolerate Them

As aforementioned, Shin noodles are made from wheat flour and are not gluten-free.

Now, this gets interesting; as popular as the wheat flour version of Shin noodles is, there is the starch version. Yes, the Shin Noodles made from starch can be purchased. They are available in various groceries stores across the country.

If you are gluten-sensitive, this is an option. 

Can Vegetarians Eat Ramen Noodles?

What You Can Do With Shin Noodles  

Shin noodles are made spicy. This is because spicy flavors and food appeal greatly to many consumers. 

They are thick and absorb the broth properly. These are a few more ways to spice up your regular Shin noodles. There are five simple ways listed below.

1. Shin Noodles With Milk

While you can enjoy the regular shin noodles, you can make them taste better by adding milk to the noodles. You need a cup of milk. Boil the noodles first to about 90%, drain the water and replace them with milk. Boil in milk for a few seconds, then season to your taste. You are in for a wonderful treat.

2. Shin Noodles With Ketch Up

Surprising? Yes, as easy as this sounds ketchup has a way of switching up an ordinary taste to something sweeter. All you need is one or two spoonsful of ketchup in your broth. Make for yourself and your friends these simple yet tasty shin noodles using ketchup. 

3. Shin Noodles With Cheese

Cheese makes ordinary unique. You can uniquely prepare your Shin noodles. What you need is cheese and egg and a bit of Ram Yeon powder. After boiling your noodles, add the Ram Yeon powder. Add the cracked egg to the center at medium heat; put in our cheese and some green onions depending on your taste. Cook the eggs for a bit and enjoy. 

4. Stir-Fried Shin Noodles

Stir- Fries are a release of flavors blended into one. The same can be done with Shin noodles. Combine all ingredients you want and mix with the Boiled Shin noodles. Ensure the Shin noodles do not boil for too long, to avoid a soggy meal.

Frequently Asked Questions

Would I Gain Weight With Shin Noodles?

Shin noodles will not cause you to gain weight as it contains calories mainly from carbohydrates. While there are other opinions as to gaining weight and fat-eating shin noodles, they should be eaten in moderation.

What Type Of Pepper Is In Shin Noodles?

Shin noodles are quite popular for their hot and spicy nature. It is made from red pepper. Gochutgaru powder is made from red pepper or Korean green pepper. This addition infuses the hot and spicy nature of Shin noodles alongside other ingredients.

Is Shin Healthy?

Shin Ram Yeon is a blend of broth that contains vegetables, garlic, beef, and instant noodles. The combination is a healthy dose of calories, vitamins, and minerals. They are healthy to consume. 

Final Thoughts

The Shin noodles are regular, spicy noodles. It can be made better and enjoyed. They are healthy as it is usually eaten with vegetables, herbs, meat, eggs, and spices.

All of these have a healthy number of vitamins, calories, fibers, and minerals embedded in them. While they might contain chemical additives or preservatives which are controversially unhealthy, they can be consumed in a healthy fashion

Ensure to stay away from the Gluten version of it if you are sensitive to Gluten. If you must eat, purchase the starch version. 

Was this article helpful?
Related Posts