Is Bubble Tea Vegetarian

Is Bubble Tea Vegetarian? (All You Should Know)

Bubble tea is so versatile, which could explain why it’s trendy. This is one of the most common drinks enjoyed in Hong Kong, Japan, and Singapore. However, there is an exciting story on how bubble tea came to be, and one is the fact that it is regarded as a beloved Taiwan icon and originated in the 1980s. There are however many controversies on whether a bubble is vegetarian or not.

Bubble tea is also known as boba tea or pearl milk tea, It is one drink traditionally loaded with tapioca pearls which are starch from the South American Cassava plant and can explain why many wonders if it’s vegetarian or not. This is an enjoyable and fabulous drink; it has a delectable and chewy flavor that will have you craving it every day.

Bubble tea being vegetarian or not, boils down to how you order it, which means the ingredients used. Milk bubble tea is made with dairy milk, so that is not a vegetarian-friendly option, but this can be swapped for plant-based milk, there is also the fruit tea option which is completely vegan, so you have to ensure to ask. Tapioca pearls are entirely plant-based, so you do not have to worry about that.

This popular drink has slowly warmed its way into the hearts of Americans and is increasingly popular in colleges and high school campuses. This Taiwanese drink can be made in so many ways, but the base is milk and tapioca pearls.

The question of ”is bubble tea vegetarian” is quite dicey. So, do stick around to find out if bubble tea is vegetarian and if it has any health benefits.

Benefits of Bubble Tea

How to Make Vegetarian Bubble Tea
Source: The Forked Spoon

Bubble tea consists of milk, fruit teas, tapioca pearls, or any other toppings. There are so many varieties of bubble tea you can get hence the nutrients tend to vary. There is sweetened bubble tea which contains lots of sugar just one cup of this bubble tea can contain 300 calories. However, it is possible to create bubble tea with lots of good health benefits, the ingredients just have to be tweaked.

Many people use green tea as the base, which is a way to reap many benefits from this bubble tea. Green tea has a possible impact on liver, breast, or colorectal cancers. Green tea is also anti-inflammatory and has antioxidants that can strengthen the blood vessel walls and prevent free radicals.

Many bubble teas lack nutritional value but to ensure it contains fewer calories and it’s a bit healthy, use green tea or black tea. The healthiest type of bubble tea is called BUBLUV, it boasts no added sugar, no artificial ingredients, and also contains less than 50 calories per bottle.

Is Bubble Tea Vegetarian? (All You Should KNOW)

The answer to whether bubble tea is vegetarian depends on how it is made. Unfortunately, bubble tea provides very little nutrients but when made with fruit tea instead of regular dairy milk, it can go a long way in terms of nutrients, and that is vegetarian friendly.

If you are getting your bubble tea from a store, it is best to ask what option is vegetarian friendly and you can be advised on which to go for.

If you are making boba tea yourself, you can easily note the ingredients that go into it. Commonly used ingredients in bubble tea that are not vegetarian and vegan friendly are artificial flavorings, some type of honey, dairy milk, or dyes. This should all be avoided, and you can rather buy some loose tea leaves and make the tea yourself.

Are Tapioca Pearls Vegetarian Friendly

Yes, tapioca pearls are plant-based hence they are vegan and vegetarian-friendly.

The tapioca pearls are made of tapioca starch that comes from the cassava root while the boba or popping pearls are made with nothing but water, sugar, fruit juice, and Alginic acid which is found in algae.

Know that gelatin has not been used in the making of tapioca pearls so it is completely safe to consume by anyone on a vegan and vegetarian diet. Tapioca pearls are a go-to for vegans so you can gladly add them to your bubble tea.

How to Make Vegetarian Bubble Tea

How to Make Vegetarian Bubble Tea
Source: Mind Over Munch

The boba often found in bubble tea is vegetarian and vegan friendly so you just have to switch the dairy milk and other ingredients for a plant-based one. The 5 common ingredients include milk, tea, tapioca pearls, artificial flavoring, and fruit teas, so you just have to keep these ingredients in mind and quickly substitute them for something vegan-friendly and plant-based.

To enjoy a basic vegetarian bubble tea, use green or black brewed tea, and change the dairy milk to any plant-based milk like oat milk, cashew milk, almond milk, or soy milk.

Get a vegetarian bubble tea recipe.

Final Thoughts

To enjoy a balanced bubble tea, it has to be sweet and milky but do keep in mind that this might provide few health benefits. Boba tea often contains lots of sugar.

Although it can provide you with lots of energy, it’s not exactly vegetarian-friendly. One way you can ensure bubble tea is entirely vegetarian and vegan-friendly is to monitor the ingredients that go into it.

As mentioned in the article, bubble tea being vegetarian friendly all depends on the ingredients. As long as you keep the ingredients in its plant-based then you can enjoy it refreshingly cold or not.

Was this article helpful?
Related Posts